Heike Kamerlingh Onnes Prize
Recipients 2022

The 2022 Heike Kamerlingh-Onnes Prize committee has decided that  Prof. Bernhard Keimer (Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart, Germany), Prof. Giacomo Ghiringhelli (Physics Department, Politecnico di Milano, Italy) and Prof. Pengcheng Dai  (Rice University, Houston, USA) will share the 2022 Kamerlingh-Onnes Prize "for experiments determining spin and charge correlations in high temperature superconductors using x-ray and neutron scattering.

Prof. Bernhard Keimer                 Prof. Giacomo Ghiringhelli              Prof. Pengcheng Dai

Citation Prof. Bernhard Keimer: 
"For illuminating neutron and X-ray scattering experiments revealing resonant magnetic excitations and ordering phenomena in cuprate superconductors" 

Citation Prof. Giacomo Ghiringhelli:
"For pioneering resonant inelastic X-ray scattering (RIXS) experiments on cuprate superconductors"

Citation Prof. Pengcheng  Dai:
"For seminal contributions elucidating the magnetic properties of cuprate and iron-based superconductors"

The HEIKE KAMERLINGH ONNES PRIZE  (http://kamerlingh-onnes-prize.ch ) was established in 2000 by the organizers of the International Conference on the Materials and Mechanisms of Superconductivity (M2S) and is sponsored by Elsevier, Publisher of Physica C - Superconductivity and its Applications. The Prize, consisting of 7500  € and a certificate, recognizes outstanding experiments which illuminate the nature of superconductivity other than materials and will be awarded during the M2S-HTSC meeting in  Vancouver, British Columbia, to be held July 17-22, 2022.


Composition of the 2022 Prize Committee

Prof. Dirk  van der Marel (Chair) - University of Geneva
Prof. Laura H. Greene - Florida State University
Prof. Mark Golden - University of Amsterdam
Prof. Setsuko Tajima - Osaka University

Past Kamerlingh Onnes Prize Recipients

2018: Yuji Matsuda  and  Louis Taillefer  for illuminating the nature of superconductivity in unconventional superconductors

Gilbert Lonzarich   for visionary experiments concerning the emergence of superconductivity among strongly renormalized quasiparticles at the edge of magnetic order

2012:   Herbert A. MookTeunis M. Klapwijk  and  Øystein H. Fischer  for their long-term outstanding and pioneering contributions to the experimental superconductivity research

2009:   J.C. Seamus Davis, Aharon Kapitulnik , and  John Tranquada  for pioneering and seminal experiments which illuminate the nature of superconductivity in strongly correlated electron systems

2006:  N. Phuan OngHidenori Takagi  and  Shin-ichi Uchida  for pioneering and seminal transport experiments which illuminated the unconventional nature of the metallic state of high temperature superconducting cuprates.

2003:  George Crabtree  and  Eli Zeldov   for pioneering and seminal experiments which elucidated the vortex phase diagram in high temperature superconductors under various conditions of disorder and anisotropy. 

2000:  Zhi-Xun Shen    for elucidating the electron structure of high-temperature superconductors and other strongly interacting electron materials by angular resolved photoelectron spectroscopy.

About Heike Kamerlingh Onnes

Heike Kamerlingh Onnes  (21 September 1853 – 21 February 1926) was a  Dutch  physicist  and  Nobel laureate. Kamerlingh Onnes measured the electrical conductivity of pure metals  at very low temperatures. 

On 8 April 1911, Kamerlingh Onnes found that at 4.2   K   the resistance in a solid mercury wire immersed in liquid helium suddenly vanished. He immediately realized the significance of the discovery (as became clear when his notebook was deciphered a century later).   He reported that " Mercury has passed into a new state, which on account of its extraordinary electrical properties may be called the superconductive state". He published more articles about the phenomenon, initially referring to it as " supraconductivity" and, only later adopting the term "superconductivity". 

Kamerlingh Onnes received widespread recognition for his work, including the 1913  Nobel Prize in Physics  for (in the words of the committee) "his investigations on the properties of matter at low temperatures which led, inter alia, to the production of liquid helium".


c/o Venue West Conference Services
#449-1231 Pacific Boulevard
Vancouver, BC V6Z 0E2 Canada



© Copyright - Venue West Conference Services Ltd.
Disclaimer: The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only. The information is provided by Venue West Conference Services and while we endeavour to keep the information up to date and correct, we make no  representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information, products, services, or related graphics contained on the website for any purpose. Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk. In no event will we be liable for any loss or damage including without limitation, indirect or consequential loss or damage, or any loss or damage whatsoever arising from loss of data or profits arising out of, or in connection with, the use of this website. Through this website you are able to link to other websites which are not under the control of Venue West Conference Services. We have no control over the nature, content and availability of those sites. The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply a recommendation or endorse the views expressed within them. Every effort is made to keep the website up and running smoothly. However, Venue West Conference Services takes no responsibility for, and will not be liable for, the website being temporarily unavailable due to technical issues beyond our control.