John Bardeen Prize  
Recipients 2022

The 2022 John Bardeen Prize is awarded to Jörg Schmalian (Karlsruher Institute of Technology), Mohit Randeria , (The Ohio State University), and Peter Hirschfeld (University of Florida) “For pioneering theoretical work that has provided significant insights on the nature of superconductivity, its realization in strongly correlated systems, and experimental probes of unconventional superconductors.”

Jörg Schmalian                   Mohit Randeria                 Peter Hirschfeld

Citation for Jörg Schmalian:
For impactful, materials-based theoretical insights into unconventional superconductors across the periodic table including organic superconductors, cuprates, and pnictides, and for pioneering work on the effect of intertwined order as well as on a beyond-quasi-particle description of normal states for unconventional superconductivity.

Citation for Mohit Randeria:
For contributions to the theory of the BCS-BEC crossover, for providing theoretical understanding of angle-resolved photoemission experiments on superconducting and pseudo gap phases of the cuprate superconductors, and for providing rigorous bounds on the superconducting transition temperature in two-dimensional materials.

Citation for Peter Hirschfeld:
For elucidating the roles of electronic structure effects in unconventional superconductors, and for developing key insights connecting the nature of unconventional superconducting gaps to transport, penetration depth, and scanning tunneling microscopy experiments.

The  JOHN BARDEEN PRIZE  was established in 1991 by the organizers of the International Conference on the Materials and Mechanisms of Superconductivity (M2S) in honor of Dr. John Bardeen for “theoretical work that has provided significant insights on the nature of superconductivity and has led to verifiable predictions”. 

This prize is funded by the Physics Department at the University of Illinois, with an award of $6,000 USD to the recipient.


Selection Committee

Yoichi  Ando (University of Cologne)
Taylor Hughes (University of Illinois Urbana Champaign, Chair)
Catherine Kallin  (McMaster University)
Alessandra Lanzara  (UC Berkeley, LBL)
Jim Sauls (Northwestern University)
Louis Taillefer (Université de Sherbrooke)

Past John Bardeen Prize Recipients

2018: Andrey V. Chubukov, Igor Mazin and Sebastian Doniach
for their contributions to the field of unconventional and multi-orbital superconductivity and superconducting quantum fluctuations

2015:  Vinay Ambegaokar
for his contributions to the statics, dynamics and kinetics of Josephson junctions and nanowires.

2012:  Steven A. Kivelson, James A. Sauls  and  Chandra M. Varma
for their works on the role of phase fluctuations and on the interplay between unconventional superconductivity and electronic inhomogeneity (Kivelson), and on the identification of the pairing symmetry, pairing mechanism, and multiple superconducting phases in heavy-fermion superconductors (Sauls, Varma).

2009:  David Pines
for phonon-mediated pairing of electrons in conventional superconductors and superfluidity in nuclear matter.

2006:  Alexander Andreev, Kazumi Maki, Doug Scalapino
for their work on quasiparticles in superconductors: prediction of Andreev scattering (Andreev) , gapless quasiparticle excitations due to pair-breaking and the role of fluctuations (Maki), and life time effects of quasiparticles and how strong correlations affect their properties (Scalapino).

2003: Anatoly Larkin, David Nelson, Valerii Vinokur
for their contributions to the theory of vortex matter.

2000:  T. Maurice Rice
for the physical insight he brought to the understanding of the superconducting state in strongly correlated materials in general, and for the prediction of unconventional pairing in Sr2RuO4 in particular.

1997:  Philip Anderson
for his contributions to the understanding of broken symmetry, the order parameter in the A and B phases of superfluid helium three and the role of impurities in metallic superconductors.

1994 :  Anthony J. Leggett, G. M. Eliashberg
for the development of the pairing theory to account for the thermodynamic and dynamic properties of strong coupling superconductors.

1991 :  Vitaly L. Ginzburg, Alexei A. Abrikosov, Lev P. Gor’kov
for developing the GLAG theory which has proved the most useful tool to investigate superconductivity phenomenologically and, further, has also been playing a vital role in the studies of the high temperature superconductors.

About John Bardeen

John Bardeen (1908-1991)  was an American physicist and electrical engineer, the only person to have won the Nobel Prize in Physics twice: first in 1956 with William Shockley and Walter Brattain for the invention of the transistor; and again in 1972 with Leon N Cooper and John Robert Schrieffer for a fundamental theory of conventional superconductivity known as the BCS theory.

The transistor revolutionized the electronics industry, allowing the Information Age to occur, and made possible the development of almost every modern electronic device, from telephones to computers to missiles. Bardeen’s developments in superconductivity, which won him his second Nobel, are used in Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy (NMR) or its medical sub-tool magnetic resonance imaging (MRI).

In 1990, John Bardeen appeared on LIFE Magazine’s list of “100 Most Influential Americans of the Century.”


c/o Venue West Conference Services
#449-1231 Pacific Boulevard
Vancouver, BC V6Z 0E2 Canada



© Copyright - Venue West Conference Services Ltd.
Disclaimer: The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only. The information is provided by Venue West Conference Services and while we endeavour to keep the information up to date and correct, we make no  representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information, products, services, or related graphics contained on the website for any purpose. Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk. In no event will we be liable for any loss or damage including without limitation, indirect or consequential loss or damage, or any loss or damage whatsoever arising from loss of data or profits arising out of, or in connection with, the use of this website. Through this website you are able to link to other websites which are not under the control of Venue West Conference Services. We have no control over the nature, content and availability of those sites. The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply a recommendation or endorse the views expressed within them. Every effort is made to keep the website up and running smoothly. However, Venue West Conference Services takes no responsibility for, and will not be liable for, the website being temporarily unavailable due to technical issues beyond our control.